Grappling with Ubuntu Server 7.10 – Part 2 of 3

Next is setting up the ip address to be static and to create the folder I want to share out. This involves needing to edit a text file, but how do you do that?

This was the one thing that put me off trying to configure the server but I guess there’s a good reason that Linux users bang on about the command line all the time. I sorely missed my Windows GUI, but now I am beginning to appreciate the simplicity of Linux. I didn’t need the server to do anything other than sit there and share files, so that’s pretty minimal configuration.

So how do you edit the smb.conf from the command line? There’s a semi-gui based text editor called ‘Nano’ that I foundFor the IP address, open the network config with nano:

sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

I only have one network adapter so it was pretty obvious what I had to change. By default the server uses DHCP to get an address, so now we change what’s currently there:

iface eth0 inet dhcp

to be static. You need to add your own network settings in here, mine are:

iface eth1 inet static
address 192.168.1.5
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

After saving the config file I rebooted.

Next up is creating the folders.

sudo mkdir /home/public
sudo chmod 777 /home/public

Folders are now created and writeable.

Leave a Reply

