Grappling with Ubuntu Server 7.10 – Part 1 of 3

So I’ve been toying with Ubuntu Server 7.10 as a replacement to the old Windows 2000 server I have at work, mainly due to the expensive issue of licencing. I had to give up on it earlier in the month and ended up buying a RAID’ed NAS as a stopgap measure whilst the server was offline.

Well, now I have a little time spare I am determined to get it working. I come from a solid Windows background and have done plenty of server-based configuration on that platform, but none with the entirely foreign command-line based Linux format. My knowledge is absolutely minimal so I decided to document how I set up the server, in case anyone else happens to be in the same fix. I have a client who requires basically the same setup as myself so am using the server at work as the test rig.

So first I stuck in an old IDE drive for the OS (I’ll deal with the RAID 1 setup later) and booted off the Ubuntu Server setup CDROM. To cut a long story short I chose the SAMBA server option and was faced with a big empty black screen and a login prompt. This server is sitting in the back office so to save myself running back and forth I needed command line access to the server. With some help from ubuntuforums.org all I needed to do was login and then type this command:

sudo apt-get install openssh-server

Then all I needed was to download putty and connect to the Ubuntu box. This all worked first go. Stoked. Next problem is configuring the folders and shares.

Leave a Reply

